Wefan Gymraeg

Tim Farron elected new Liberal Democrat Leader

Welsh Liberal Democrat Leader Kirsty Williams AM has congratulated Tim Farron on his victory in the Liberal Democrat leadership election.

Tim Farron, who won with 56.5% of party members’ votes, has been the MP for Westmorland and Lonsdale since 2005, winning over 50% of the popular vote in the 2015 general election. He was the Liberal Democrat Party President from 2010 to 2014, and served as the party’s Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs spokesperson during the election.

Kirsty Williams AM, Leader of the Welsh Liberal Democrats, said:

“I’m incredibly excited to start working with Tim as our new Leader as we continue our party’s fightback. I know he will communicate our liberal message with that human touch that’s often missing in politics.

“We are incredibly lucky as a party to have had two excellent leadership candidates, and I know that Norman will continue to play a key role within the party over the coming years.

“Tim has always been a great friend of Wales. He understands our nation, its traditions and – crucially – the importance of the Assembly elections next year to the Welsh political landscape.

“With thousands upon thousands of new members and a renewed sense of optimism for the British liberal cause, we are absolutely up for the fight.”

Commenting on the election, Liberal Democrat Party President Sal Brinton said:

“Both Tim and Norman ran distinctively liberal, strong campaigns that spoke to party members across the UK. At numerous hustings and meetings with members, they spoke of their liberal values, the direction they think we should go, and how to best rebuild the party over the coming months and years.

“Tim is a fantastic communicator and his energy, enthusiasm and passion will inspire and drive the Liberal Democrats back to winning ways."

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.